#RefugeesWelcome: Groups and Training

Britain has a proud history of offering sanctuary to people fleeing persecution. Whether it was Jewish kids before the Second World War, Polish people who fought alongside us in the Battle of Britain, Ugandan Asians fleeing Idi Amin, the Vietnamese Boat People or those fleeing ethnic violence in Kosovo, we are a country that offers protection and believes in a warm welcome when you get here.

We believe that a genuine commitment to welcome refugees also means tackling unjust policies that will hurt those hoping to come here. It also means practically rolling up our sleeves to help make resettlement happen. The groups listed on the right are driving forward this movement for fairness and welcome across the country.

If you would like to set up a local campaign, please see this ‘8 Step Guide to building a successful resettlement campaign’.

Bi-Monthly Monday conference call for local coordinators

We run a national conference call every Monday at 7pm for local coordinators, so we can support one another and work together so we’ve a joined up strategy for making change. Sign up here http://www.refugees-welcome.org.uk/join-a-local-groups-call/

Citizens UK Resettlement Training in Community Organising

Given the number and diversity of Refugee Welcome groups around the UK, we now offer 3 training sessions, each of roughly 2.5 hours. Each training session requires at least 15 local leaders to participate.

Training Session 1: Introduction to Refugee Welcome (2.5 hours)

This will introduce Citizens UK community organiser training which will share the approach that Citizens groups around the country have used to get their local council to sign up to resettlement programs. It aims to help teams establish themselves and build a plan. It will also connect local groups to other resettlement teams in the area and to the national resettlement effort. Where local groups have successfully engaged their council already, the training will focus on how to contribute to making national policy change so we welcome more refugees faster, it will also cover the latest public attitudes research and strategic planning for when resettlement does occur in your area (this is not a negotiation/meeting to which the council should be invited).

Training Session 2: Using Community Organising techniques to help you win your local campaign (2.5 hours)

This session is for teams that have been working on their campaigns but are looking to win. We will explore the community organising tools of a power analysis, an understanding of the self-interest of the decision-maker, negotiation skills and what constitutes an effective action.

 

Training Session 3: How to build and sustain your team? (2.5 hours)
Sustaining volunteer leader interest and involvement means finding new ways to challenge people and allow them to work on the things that they care about. This session will be for teams to do deeper training on relational meetings (what we call one to one conversations), how to build a local narrative (‘Me-Us-Now’ training), sustaining your team and building effective leadership

 

One day regional training

Bespoke regional training, including learning from other local groups and a combination of the sessions offered above are available if teams can organise between 3-5 teams (between 20-30 people) to be together for a 1 day session.

Local Training Dates 

Current training dates (with more to come) – please email the listed area contact if you want to attend. Please contact Bekele.Woyecha@citizensuk.org  if you’d like to organise a training locally.

TRAINING DATES IN 2015

Milton Keynes, Tuesday 22nd September at 7:30pm
Birmingham, Saturday 3rd October from 2:00pm -4:00pm
Wolverhampton, Wednesday 7th October from 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Malvern, Wednesday 14th October from 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Greenwich, South London, 22nd October from 2:00 – 4:00pm
Lancaster, Wednesday 28th October from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Newport, Wednesday 28th October 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Colchester, Thursday 29th October from 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Manchester, Saturday 31st October 1:00pm-4:00pm
East London, Wednesday 4th November from 7:00 – 9:00pm
Scotland, Kirkcaldy, Fife, Wednesday 4th November from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Brent, North London, Monday 9th November from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Cambridge, Monday 9th November from 7:00 – 9:00pm
Totnes, Tuesday 10th November from 6:30pm – 8:30pm
London School of Economics, Wednesday 11th November from 4:00 – 6:00pm
Crawley, Saturday 14th November from 2:00 – 4:00pm
Gloucestershire, Stroud, Monday 16th November from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Epsom, Wednesday 18th November from 7:30 – 9:00pm
North London, Camden, UCL, Thursday 19th November 6.30 – 8.30pm
Oxfordshire, Vale of the White Horse, Tuesday 24th November 7:00 – 9:00pm
Dorset (Sherborne), Wednesday 2nd December from 7:00 – 9:00pm
Eastbourne, Wednesday 2nd December from 6:00 – 8:00pm

TRAINING DATES IN 2016

Tonbridge, Kent, Wednesday 13th January from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Leicester, Tuesday 19th January from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Tower Hamlets, Wednesday 20th January from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Cheltenham, Thursday 21st January from 6:00 – 8:00pm
Scotland, Stirling, Thursday 21st January from 6:30 -9:30pm
Petersfield, Tuesday 26th January from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Crawley, Saturday 30th January from 2:00 – 4:00pm
Westminster, LSE, Thursday 4th February from 5:00 – 7:00pm
North Acton, Friday 5th February from 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Brighton, Monday 22nd February from 7:00pm – 9:30pm
Liverpool, Merseyside, Saturday 27th February from 1:00pm – 3:00pm
Leeds, Monday 7th March from 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Norwich, Monday 14th March from 6:30pm – 9:00pm
Redbridge, Sunday 20th March from 3:00pm – 6:00pm
Lewes, East Sussex, Wednesday 6th April from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Stafford, Tuesday 12th April from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Bath, Wednesday 20th April from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Richmond, Wednesday 20th April from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Seaford, Thursday the 12th May from 6:30-8:30pm
East Devon, Tuesday 31st May from 6:00 – 8:00pm
Morden, Tuesday 31st May from 7:00 – 9:30pm
Greenwich, Tuesday 7th June from 6:30 – 9:30pm
Earlsfield, Monday 13th June from 6:30 – 8:30pm

Current local groups

Alfreton (Derbyshire) – Ayesha Swinson – ayesha-swinson@hotmail.com 

Ashton-under-Lyne, Tameside – Sarah Stuart – sarahstuart25@googlemail.com

Bath Spa – Bernie  Howley berniewells@btinternet.com

Birmingham – Saeed Haque saidul.haque@citizensuk.org

Brent – Paul Amuzie, Paul.Amuzie@citizensuk.org

Brighton, John Ellison,  john@prosper.community

Bristol – Joon Lynn Goh lynn@inbetweentime.co.uk

Bude – Mary Whibley mary.whibley@gmail.com

Calderdale- Vicky Ledwidge vicky.ledwidge@staugustinescentrehalifax.org.uk

Cambridge – www.cambridgerefugees.org – Margaret Loescher maggie46616@yahoo.com

Camden – Stephanie Leonard – Stephanie.Leonard@citizensuk.org

Cardiff – Jonathan Cox Jonathan.Cox@citizensuk.org

Cheltenham – Rose Chacko –  rose.chacko1986@gmail.com

Chester – Kristian Smith kr.smith@btinternet.com

Colchester- Jean-Michel Knutsen jeanmi.redac@gmail.com

Crawley – Anna Pincus – RWCanna@gmail.com

Crediton, Devon -Gerald Conyngham – gerald@eclipse.co.uk

Darlington – Fran Wood fran.wood8@gmail.com

Devon (South) – Cathy Koo chris.koo@icloud.com

Devizes – Kayleigh Pedder and Justina Pettifer – devizeshelp@gmail.com

Dorset (Sherborne) –  Maria Barlow – barlowm@hotmail.co.uk

Durham – Makarena Julios maka.julios@gmail.com

Ealing – Sara Nathan sara@natsing.co.uk

Earlsfield – Vanessa Mieville justshelter@outlook.com

East Cheshire – Jane Smith – jcsmith@therapy-cheshire.co.uk

East London – Emmanuel Gotora – Emmanuel.Gotora@citizensuk.org

East Devon,  Brian Jones josebri3483@hotmail.com

East Renfrewshire – Saliha Minhas  – saliha.minhas@gmail.com

Eastbourne – Julie Lavelle – julie_lavelle1962@hotmail.com

Edinburgh – Helen Watson – hvwatson.senn@yahoo.com

Ely – Poppy Pearce – poppypearce@gmail.com

Enfield – Alison Phillips – alisonphillips2@googlemail.com

Flintshire – Kim Guillot – kim051@hotmail.com

Glasgow – Douglas Lindsey – douglas.lindsay.49@gmail.com

Gloucestershire – Mathew Page mathewjpage@googlemail.com

Greenwich – Lucy Hunton – lhunton@live.co.uk

Hackney – Caitlin Burbridge Caitlin.Burbridge@citizensuk.org

Hampshire – Thom Reilly thomreilly@yahoo.com

Hampstead – Sabrin Kanji – sk@skanji.com

Haringey – Rose Bernstein – refugeeswelcomeharingey@gmail.com

Hertfordshire – John White – jswhite@cix.co.uk

Horsham – Joanna Eames – joanna@eamesuk.net

High Wycombe – Catherine Guy – applemoy@gmail.com

Islington – Tom Hague – tom-hague@hotmail.co.uk

Kensington and Chelsea – Samia Badani badani7@msn.com

Kirkcaldy, Scotland, Joanna Zawadzka info@fifemigrantsforum.org.uk 01592642927 & 07963434441

Knighton & District Refugee Support Group – Christine Brooks – meadowbrooksilve@hotmail.com

Lambeth and Croydon – James Asfa – James.Asfa@citizensuk.org

Lancaster – Rebecca Joy Novell rebeccajoynovell@gmail.com

Leeds and Bradford Fawaz Alghofari alghofari2007@yahoo.co.uk

Leicester, Fatima Manjra fmanjra2010@gmail.com

Liverpool, Merseyside, Lee-Anne Widnall lee-a@talktalk.net

Loughborough – Mike Seed – mike.seed87@gmail.com

Milton Keynes – Ursula Krausharper u.krausharper@btopenworld.com and Carmel Schmid carmelschmid@gmail.com

Malvern – Ruth Forecast – crystalrcf@yahoo.co.uk

Manchester – Felicity Brangan – felicitybrangan@yahoo.co.uk

Merton –  Nick Coke Nick.Coke@salvationarmy.org.uk

Newport – Dylan Moore dylanmoore80@mac.com

Norwich – Meike Reintjes M.Reintjes@uea.ac.uk

Perth and Kinross – Ruth – ruthalexander71@hotmail.com

Petersfield, East Hampshire – Kaaren Wallace – enquiries@ruralrefugeenetwork.org.uk

Redbridge, Daniel Mackintosh Daniel.Mackintosh@citizensuk.org

Rhondda Cynon Taf – Rev Rosa Hunt  – revdrosa@gmail.com

Richmond – Caroline Sherrard – caroline_sherrard@hotmail.com

Scottish Borders – Harriet Campbell –  hrdcampbell@btinternet.com

Seaford, Krissie, welcometoseaford@yahoo.co.uk

Sherborne (Dorset) – Maria Barlow – barlowm@hotmail.co.uk

Shetland – Wendy Sinclair – Shetland Refugees shetlandrefugees@hotmail.com

Southend – Melanie Smith revd.melanie@gmail.com

Southwark – Clare Roberts  southwarkrefugees@gmail.com

Stafford – Uzma Waseem – uzmawaseem@live.co.uk and  Tony Pearce mr.tony.pearce@gmail.com

Stratford on Avon – Alec Burslem alec.emag@gmail.com

Stirling – Savi – savi0maharaj@gmail.com

Stockton – Suzanne Fletcher – fletcher.suzanne005@gmail.com

Surrey Heath – Ray Northcott – randl.northcott@ntlworld.com

Swindon – Anna-Maria – amslf34@yahoo.co.uk

Taunton – Chris Waddilove   – waddilovechris@gmail.com

Tonbridge, Kent – Johanna Elderfield johelderfield@me.com and Fiona O’Brien – missfionaobrien@gmail.com

Totnes – Peter Oswald – p.oswald162@btinternet.com

Tower Hamlets, threfugees@gmail.com

Truro – Magda Machlarz mmachlarz@yahoo.co.uk

Vale of the White Horse – Reggie Norton – reggienorton@talktalk.net

Waltham Forest – Silvana Gambini – refugeeswelcomewf@hotmail.com

Wellington – Lou Armitt – louarmittleigh@gmail.com

West London – info@mrcf.org.uk + 02089644815

West Berkshire – Lindsey Middlemiss – lindseymiddlemiss@hotmail.co.uk

Wiltshire – Kayleigh Pedder and Justina Pettifer – devizeshelp@gmail.com

Winchester – Ian Diver ian.diver@talktalk.net

Wolverhampton – Lea Fanara leafanara@live.co.uk

Sign up below for training dates